The Trees Columbus mission is to PLANT, PRESERVE and PROTECT trees. Healthy trees, the urban landscape and community tree canopy increase property values, clean our air and water and improve quality of life. Trees have a tremendous impact on our emotional well-being as well as the local economy. Our legacy tree canopy has been cut in half, with most of this loss coming from the last thirty years. Trees Columbus volunteers PLANT thousands of trees throughout our community. Our education programs PRESERVE tree canopy for generations to come. We also PROTECT trees through state and local advocacy.

Our offices are housed in Uptown Columbus in the Spencer Environmental Center, sharing space with the Chattahoochee Fall Line Conservation Partnership, the Chattahoochee River Conservancy, the Coalition for Sound Growth (CSG) and The Nature Conservancy in the restored 1837 Swift-Kyle House.


In 2000, a small and determined group of citizens founded Trees Columbus, Inc. in response to the imminent loss of 150 mature trees in Lakebottom Park. Because a few committed individuals noticed fluorescent pink ties around trees, asked questions and acted decisively in the community’s best interest, the majestic trees remain; and Lakebottom Park flourished as one of our city’s most beloved gathering places, balancing recreation facilities with the park’s natural beauty.

The ongoing efforts of Trees Columbus have resulted in the passage of a Tree Ordinance and the planting of over 14,000 new trees in our community; urban forestry education programs have engaged Columbus residents in planting, preserving and protecting our vital tree canopy; and our advocacy efforts are helping protect hundreds of thousands of public trees along highway rights of way in Columbus and throughout the state.

Board Of Directors


Mr. Travis Wade, President

Mr. Jim Pound, Immediate Past President

Ms. Mercedes Parham, Vice President

Mr. James Dudley, Treasurer

Dr. Cliff Ruehl, Secretary

Board of Advisors

Mr. Dan Amos

Mr. Gardiner Garrard

Mr. Bob Hydrick

Mr. Milton Jones

Dr. Thornton Jordan

Mr. John Sheftall

Dr. George Stanton

Mr. John Turner

Mr. Sam Wellborn

Ex-Officio Members

Ms. Rachel Barker

Mr. Glenn Davis

Ms. Chris Henson

Mr. Scott Jones

Mr. Julio Portillo

Ms. Gloria Weston-Smart

Ms. Dorothy McDaniel, Executive Director

Ms. Candice Wayman, Assistant Director

Ms. Paige Swift, Membership & Fundraising


Board of Directors

Dr. Champ Baker, III

Ms. Erin Bouthillier

Ms. Sally Bradley

Mr. Gary Bruce

Mr. Wade Cliatt

Ms. Jane Etheridge

Ms. Kate Finley

Mr. Captain Fort

Mr. Tim Gregory

Ms. Karon Henderson

Mr. Bruce Howard

Ms. Rashmi Hudson

Mr. Dawson Ingram

Mr. Werner Kennon

Dr. Ed Kinner

Mr. Blake Melton

Mr. Hank Moore

Ms. Andrea Parker

Mr. Tom Queen

Ms. Eva Smith

Ms. Lucia Swift

Ms. Cathey Turner

Ms. Amy White

become a member?

Plant with us

If only money grew on trees!